Meet the Governors


School governors are drawn from different parts of the community and can be parents and staff or from the Local Authority, the community or other local groups. This helps to ensure that the governing body has sufficient diversity of views and experience but does not means that governors of a particular category represent that group on the governing body. For example, parent governors do not represent the parents at the school and do not report back to them. 

The governing body has a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement. Its responsibilities include but are not limited to:  

  • Setting targets for pupil achievement 
  • Managing the school’s finances 
  • Making sure that the curriculum is balanced and broadly based 
  • Appointing staff 
  • Reviewing staff performance and pay 

The Governing Body of Redhill School is made up of 8 governors: 

  • Beth Tutchener Ellis - The Chair of Governors 
  • Anthony Smith - Deputy Chair of Governors
  • Claire Lamb - Governor
  • Claire Freestone - Governor
  • Sandra Sutton - Governor
  • Sharon Dore - Governor
  • Debra Garside - Governor 
  • Stephen Tidmarsh - Governor
  • Phillip Nicholls - Governor

Some governors are linked to a class so that they can develop an understanding of pupil progress within that group and they hold regular update meetings with the class teacher to ensure that standards are monitored and maintained. The governing body has considerable discretion as to how to discharge its responsibilities but is required to constitute itself in line with the regulations and to appoint a chair and a vice chair. The governing body may delegate certain of its responsibilities to particular governors or committees of governors. The governors with specific responsibilities within the governing body are.